How to Restrict Your Account to One Network Print
Modified on: Fri, 10 Nov, 2023 at 5:37 PM
With Substrate, you can use the same account on all chains. Polkadot-JS UI will show a warning sign when an account is enabled on all chains, but contrary to the message of that sign, allowing the account on all chains is usually preferable.
In some cases, however, you may want to restrict an account to just one chain. In this article, we explain how to do that in Polkadot-JS UI.
If you are interested in the advantages and disadvantages of each approach, you can check this article.
TABLE OF CONTENTS
In the Polkadot Browser Extension
1. Click on the Polkadot browser extension next to the URL bar to open it.
2. Click on the three dots next to your account, and pick the network from the drop-down menu instead of "Allow use on any chain":
4. A colorful tag with the network's name will appear next to your account. Your account now will only appear when you are connected to the chosen network:
Depending on the network, you may also see your account address and identicon change.
On Polkadot-JS UI
2. Your accounts added directly on Polkadot-JS UI will appear under "Accounts," and you will see a warning sign next to them if they are available on all networks:
3. Click on the three dots next to the account, and enable the "Only this network" switch:
4. The warning sign will now disappear, and the account will only appear on the Accounts page when connected to this network.
Did you find it helpful?Send feedback
Disclaimer: We always strive to provide you with the best support we can and we take all care to ensure that our instructions are accurate and concise. However, following these instructions properly, as well as the general management of your accounts and funds, is ultimately your responsibility. Web3 Foundation cannot be held liable for any accidental loss of funds or any other damage you might incur.